Marc’s GChat Status Expanded

Top Chef is Back and Requires a Post

This blog is kind of like the Scrubs or Family Guy of the blogosphere; you’re never quite sure if new episodes are being made, and just when you think its gone for good, another network picks it up and orders another season.

Anyway, I had to write because a couple of days ago the new season of Top Chef debuted, and it was pretty freaking fantastic.

The cast seems to have rebounded from last season’s mind-numbingly terrible group of chefs. I was actually quite surprised with the caliber of the chefs, with multiple James Beard award nominees and multiple “top rising chef” nominees. I don’t know if this has always been the case and this is just the first season that they actually publicized it or if this is a new trend, but I like it. I tend to think this has not always been the case because the quality of the food in the first challenge seemed to be a step above the last few seasons too. Nonetheless it’s nice to know that the chefs in the running are actually good at what they do.

On a person to person basis, I like the cast a lot too. I legitimately love Ron (I’m pretty sure he doesn’t know what “vice” means, but he is fantastic), Kevin (who won the first challenge), and the two brothers. I’ll probably be rooting for them the whole season. Mattin seems to be playing the role of “foreign born chef who no one can understand to the degree that subtitles are required whenever he speaks” that Fabio played perfectly last year. The only chef I really dislike is Eve (this season’s Jill from Season 5).

Perhaps one of the highlights of the first episode though was Jennifer, who pretty much destroyed the entire cast at everything she did. I thought Wolfgang Puck was going to hire her on the spot to work at one of his restaurants. I can really appreciate what she does because it is so clear that she has the cooking chops to back up the attitude that Bravo is almost certainly going to play up through editing this year. I know there is the whole “3 of the last 5 Top Chefs won the first challenge” thing, but I am picking Jennifer now and riding her to the end (that sounded inappropriate).

I’m a little worried that the whole “we’re in Las Vegas, SO MANY SURPRISES AND TWISTS” theme is going to make some of the challenges absolutely ridiculous. The fact that Robin probably could have gone home and chilled until the second set of challenges because she pulled a chip out of a hat was kind of absurd. Did anyone else realize she had to do nothing of substance in the entire first episode? Please, producers, don’t vomit all over yourselves just because you can. The quality of the challenges after one episode is hard to gauge. I wasn’t a fan of 3/4s of the cast not having to cook in the Quick Fire, but the elimination challenge was very entertaining.

I didn’t watch the “this season on the top chef” preview after the episode ended, but I’m pretty psyched to see what’s in store. Hopefully all the Top Chefs coming back for the finale of Top Chef Masters means I won’t have to see Hosea at all this season, which would be a plus. If the rest of the episodes play as well as Wednesday’s, it is going to be a great season.

August 21, 2009 - Posted by | Nonsense, Television

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

