Marc’s GChat Status Expanded

January 4th For the Win/For the Loss

The first FTW/FTL of 2011!

For the Win! 😀

Dear Blank, Please Blank: I don’t recall who shared this website with me. If it was you let me know and I will edit with a h/t. Dear Blank Please Blank is similar in layout to FML, TFM, TFLN, and all the rest. I particularly like this site though because there is only so much fail I can take in one day. Dear Blank Please Blank has users submit entries using the format of a letter. Some of my favorites:

Dear backwards baseball caps,
Thank you for allowing us to spot douchebags from afar.
Sincerely, college girls
Dear Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry,
Please send me my letter already. I’m tired of the Muggle world.
Sincerely, the kid who still believes in magic
Dear Noah,
We could have sworn you said the ark wasn’t leaving till 5.
Sincerely, Unicorns

Forever Remix: I have no idea what unemployed people did when they got bored/realized they had blisters from writing cover letters/untucked from the fetal position before YouTube came around. In the midst of searching YouTube rappers remixing songs, I came across this rather incredible cover of Forever by four of the more popular YouTube rappers (I think). The song features Traphik, Dyme-a-Duzin, Dumbfoundead, Prince EA, and DPryde. Follow the link to take a look.

Winning Fantasy Football: I won my remaining fantasy football league this past weekend. I’ll spare you the gory details. I won my first four games, then lost six of nine, then got hot in the playoffs. Basically I am the 2008 Arizona Cardinals, except I won it all.

My Buddy Nick Defying the Odds: Congrats also go out to my buddy Nick, who has never played fantasy sports before. He won another league I was in using the team name, “What Am I Doing?” Way to go Nick.

New Hyperbole and a Half Post: If you aren’t reading hyperbole and a half, you need to. Head over to her blog to read about the year Kenny Loggins ruined her Christmas.

For the Loss!? 😦

My Party Hosting Skills: If you attended my New Years party, and were ringing in the new year in my living room after I passed out at 12:45 or 1:00AM, I apologize. Blame the champagne flip cup and Four Loko assassinations.

The Next Great Baker: On Sunday I had the misfortune of catching TLC’s The Next Great Baker. The show features Cake Boss Buddy Valestro putting 10 bakers through a Top-Chef like series of challenges to see which will gain the “honor” of joining his bakery. The show is terrible. Buddy Valestro has to be one of the least likable reality show hosts in history. The show is ripe with twists that are only loosely linked to the challenges they are a part of (one of the episodes I caught had Buddy surprising the BAKERS with the task of cooking an authentic italian dinner for 100 people). The judges table segments are devoid of any suspense to the degree that Buddy compensates by taking on a persona that can best be described as “Gordon Ramsey and Tom Colicchio’s love child.”

The biggest issue;  these bakers are not the best in their trade (like the ones you see on all of those Food Network Challenge shows). When they have seven hours to complete a cake that would normally take them two days, the end product ends up looking like crap. The time constraints dramatically impact the quality of the work produced. Who wants to watch a bunch of amateur bakers produce cakes that look like crap? Do yourself a favor and stay away from this show.

Lots of birds dying: I’m not sure if you’ve heard yet, but a few thousand black birds fell from the sky on New Years Eve. Then, 500 birds died in Louisiana, and 100,000 fish in Arkansas again, and another huge fish kill in Maryland. It’s not so much the birds and fish dying that has me putting this in the “for the loss” column. It’s more the “this is further proof that we are living in the end times and the world will come to an end in 2012 as predicted” feeling I get when I see things like this happen.

I immediately regret this decision: Buyers remorse begins next week as House Republicans have scheduled a health care repeal vote for January 12. Democrats in the Senate have pledged to block any repeal of the bill, so this vote will be more about creating a spectacle than about actually effecting any kind of real progress. I imagine that this will be the case more often than not with the Republican controlled Congress.

January 4, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I thought the same thing about the baker show! I thought it would be awesome cause I love that guy that hotsts it. Booooo disappointing. I like the blank blank site though. Funny.

    Comment by strangetributes | January 4, 2011


Leave a Reply

